Pawa Bowls with Bok Choy, Pickled Veggies, Pumpkin Seeds and Wafu Sauce

photo-12

So, if you are Vegetarian or Vegan in Montreal, you most certainly are aware of the restaurant Aux Vivres, which is one of the most attended Vegan spot in town. If you are not, then, you are missing some pretty amazing bowls (every time I get there I’m like “Oh, gonna take something else today… and I almost always finish with a bowl, I just cannot help it!)

With that said, If you are in town, just take your bike or get in that subway and go to Aux Vivres NOW. But if you aren’t, guess what? You can do your own bowl at home.

While Aux Vivres bowls always include grilled tempeh or tofu, I decided to do a soy free version with some pumpkin seeds, and a little bit of every veggie I got in my fridge. So here is my recipe, but feel free, like I did, to just get inspired and do whatever the hell you want afterward (just make sure to put some grains, some vegetables and some sauce… it’s the whole spirit of the bowl!)

What you’ll need :

For 2 servings

  • 3/4 cup uncooked brown rice (brown rice is the only way to go in 2013! Drop that modified white scrap and say welcome to whole, fiber-licious grains!)
  • 2 large bok choy
  • 1/2 cup carrots, cut in julienne
  • 1/2 cup daikon, cut in julienne
  • 1/3 cup rice vinegar or white wine vinegar
  • 3 tbsp of water
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1 green onion
  • 1/3 cup wafu sauce (approximately) ** see the note at the end of the post if wafu doesn’t ring a bell to you. IMPORTANT : THE SAUCE IS NOT VEGAN, IT CONTAINS DEHYDRATED EGG YOLKS, BUT YOU CAN TRY TO MAKE A VEGAN VERSION OF YOUR OWN, OR BUY IT AT “AUX VIVRES” RESTAURANT**
  • Some sesame seeds, to garnish
  • Some cilantro stems, to garnish
  • Some sprouts, to garnish (I didn’t have any, so I put spinach)

How you’ll do it :

First, drain the rice and cook it.

While it’s cooking, cut your vegetables. I cut the bok choy lenght wise in two or three parts, but its optional.

photo-11Yeah, this time, I got totally crazy with pictures, and took a lot more than in my first post

Boil some water and steam the bok choy.

Use a Mandoline to cut the carrots and daikon in juliennes. Put them in a bowl with the rice vinegar and about 3 tablespoon of water. Set them aside (at least five minutes).

photo-9

When everything is cooked, put the rice in the bottom of your bowls, cover with cooked bok choy, pickled juliennes, pumpkin seeds and sprouts (or spinach). Take some little serving bowls and pour some wafu sauce in it. Put the little bowls in the big bowls, add cilantro stems and sprinkle everything with sesame seeds.

Voilà!

photo-13

(Gosh, my bok choy are soooo overcooked! I even tried to hid them in the bowl. I just got totally confused by all the photo taking and totally forgot them on the oven! Shame! Hope I’ll handle everything better for the next recipe!)

**Note on wafu sauce**

Buying some ready made sauce or vinaigrette isn’t really my thing, but wafu sauce in a exception to that! You can find that yummy japanese sesame seeds sauce in every grocery store in Montreal (sometimes in the fish section). It’s totally vegan and totally the best for those days when you are in a hurry! Can be put on (almost) everything : tofu, salads, chopped veggies, grains, etc.

Here a picture for you to know what you’re looking for (this is the regular non-vegan version) : photo-6

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Pawa Bowls with Bok Choy, Pickled Veggies, Pumpkin Seeds and Wafu Sauce

  1. Gabrielle says:

    Hi miss Veggie Pawa 😉
    Tonight, with the heat making us all sweaty from the moustache, i decided to try a fresh bowl of pickeled veggies pawa bowl like yours. I did it with what I had on hand, but almost identicall as yours, with brown rice, pumpkin seed, bok choy and so on. But since I didn’t have rice vinegar on hand, I pickled my veggies with wine vinegar and also added ginger in the mix for a little asiatic zing and it was a success. We ate our bowl like some abandon puppy who didn’t eat for weeks…see the picture Oô so, thanks for the inspiration it was worth the try. By the way, I love your blog, pictures and recepies are great! Good luck with your thesis! 🙂

Leave a Reply

