Colourful Salad with Red Cabbage, Oranges, Dates and Feta Cheese

DSC_0199

So here is my latest summer-friendly recipe!

As I am working on my Master thesis almost all the time, I really need some quick and easy recipes to fill my boyfriend’s and I bellies. (Yeah, it’s during this intense and decisive time of my life, when all my efforts are concentrated into the goal of finishing my thesis for next august, that I decided I needed to start my own cooking blog… yeah, food is THE way to go for procrastination!).

So, being really busy, I came up with this super easy yet super delicious recipe. You’ll see, those flavours mix so well it just tastes like heaven.

Ingredients :

Makes 2 servings

Salad :

  • 1 1/2 cup red cabbage, sliced
  • 2 1/2 cup mixed greens
  • 2 oranges
  • 8 dattes, pitted and sliced
  • 1/3 cup feta, crumbled
  • 1/3 cup slivered almonds
  • Sunflower soots, to garnish

Dressing :

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp chives

How to :

Simple. First, get all your ingredients chopped.

Here is how I personally cut my oranges, because :

  1. I hate to peel them.
  2. It makes them pretty
  3. It makes it a lot easier to remove the seeds
  4. It makes them all juicy and fun to eat

DSC_0171

I simply cut both extremities so the orange can stand still. Then, I go all around the orange and cut off the skin, trying to waste as little as possible. Then I cut the orange in quarters. This time, I even cut those quarters in two parts, to have tinier bites. It’s almost like cutting them in supreme, but the laziest way, caus I keep the interstitial fibers.

Another trick I could give you is to always choose the dates that are kept in the refrigerator in your grocery store (they are in some kind of carton boxes). They are so much better and softer than those kept are room temperature! There is just no comparison!

So, once all your ingredients are chopped, just put them all together (except the sunflower soots) in a bowl and toss them.

Mix the dressing ingredients and add them into the bowl.

DSC_0181

Put the salad on a plate and add the sunflower soots, to garnish.

DSC_0205

Tadam! Hope you enjoy your colourful meal!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

