Cauliflower and Carrots Patties (or Veggie Pâté)

cauliflower and carrots patties

Ok! Since I began the blog, I’ve mostly posted recipes of my own. But I must admit I’m nothing like a real recipe developer and most of the time, I just follow everyone else recipe (which explains why I’m addicted to Pinterest and healthy vegetarian cooking blogs).

I’m spending hours and hours around the net to find some yummy recipes and here I’ll post the best of my experiments (with little modifications, from time to time). So, if your taste and your cooking skills are quite like mine, you should be happy of the selection I’ll bring here.

Today’s recipe is from Anja’s Food 4 Thought . Anja is an awesome blogger and photographer! You should really visit her page. I’m reproducing the recipe with her authorization. I’ve change the name of the recipe a bit but all the ingredients are still the same (there was nothing to change, as those patties are so good the way they are!).

To be honest, I’m trying so much different recipe that I underestimated this one when came the time to give it a try. I thought it would be “another good one”, but in fact, it is INCREDIBLY GOOD. What I found out is that those patties taste even BETTER the next day, when they have passed the night in the fridge, and are used as a spread on any kind of bread. This is why I specified they can be used as a “Veggie Pâté”. They would be great for a summer picnic.

I was also surprised by how quick it is to do those, and really impressed by how filling they are!

Ingredients :

2 to 3 servings

  • 2 tablespoons flax meal (ground flax seeds)
  • 6 tablespoons boiling water
  • 1 cup cauliflower florets
  • 1 cup carrots, chopped into chunks
  • 1 small red onion
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 cup fresh parsley leaves
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice, freshly squeezed
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (or to taste)
  • 1 tablespoon sesame seeds
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 cup almond meal
  • olive oil for frying

Directions :

In am small bowl, combine flax seed with boiling water and stir until well combined. Let stand for a few minutes to thicken.

In a food processor, combine cauliflower, carrots, onion, garlic and parsley. Pulse a few times until coarsely chopped. Add lemon juice, cumin, salt and cayenne and pulse again to blend. The mixture should be very finely chopped now. (I used my Vitamix. It was quick and effective, but I had to be careful so the ingredients wouldn’t get into a soup. I put the Vitamix level to 5 and juste pulsed the power switch on and off a few times.)

Transfer mixture to a bowl. Add flax seed mixture and almond meal and knead until mixture holds together. Add more almond meal if the mixture seems to wet. Add sesame and pumpkin seeds.

Form patties of the size of the palm of your hand. You should get about 6 patties out of the batter.

Coat a frying pan with olive oil and cook patties over medium heat for 3-4 minutes on each side, or until lightly browned. Manipulate them carefully, as they may want to fall apart.

Serve immediately with a fresh salad and tahini or yogurt dip.

**As you can see on my picture, I had mine with stuffed vine leaves I bought in store (yeah, I can get lazy), pita bread, greek yogourt ant cucumbers.

mélange pour cauliflower and carrots pattiesHere is the mixture before I formed the patties

ajusted patties vue d'ensembleAnd here is the final result! (Gosh it’s hard to get an appropriate lighting in my kitchen…)

Hope you enjoy these as much as I did!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

