Seitan Kebab

seitan kebab main picture

Hi! Today I have for you a two steps recipe for a really yummy dinner. Yeah, it requires some time, but I can assure you it all worth it!

First, you’ll have to prepare your seitan. My recipe involves coral lentils; I think it’s really interesting to add some proteins to this recipe that usually only contains gluten.

Then, you’ll have to marinate the seitan and form skewers. I recommend you to do the seitan and the marinade the day before you wanna serve this recipe. The seitan will get much more tasty!

This was my first attempt at making my own seitan and I was totally pleased with the result. I took my recipe on a french forum, where it was originally posted by someone named Kasui. To do this recipe, you’ll need a scale. I guess there are plenty of other recipes on the internet that doesn’t require it… but let’s face it, if you love to cook, a scale can be useful… (and it’s not expensive at all!)

The marinade recipe was created by Kyra, on Recettes du Québec website. It was originally designed for meat recipes, but I thought it was really good on seitan!

Ingredients for the seitan

200 g of cooked coral lentils (takes around 100g of dried lentils and 300 g of water)

10 g of brewers yeast (3 tbsp)

30 g of tamari sauce (one or two tbsp)

a pinch of ginger powder

60 to 80 g of vital wheat gluten

** you can add spices of your choice. I simply add black pepper.

Directions

Wait until the lentils are cold (or almost cold).

Mix all the ingredients together and knead for a few minutes, till you have a nice, compact ball.

Put the seitan in the form you want (I had a potato shape, as you can see in my earlier post).

Steam cook it for an hour (turn it upside down after 30 minutes).

Ingredients for the marinade

1/2 cup olive oil

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 tbsp tamari sauce

Juice from half a lemon

2 garlic cloves finely chopped

1 little onion, chopped

1 tsp dried mustard

1/4 tsp oregano

1/4 tsp ground cumin

1/4 tsp steak spice (the best one is Montreal’s steak spice)

1 bay leaf

Directions

Put all the marinade ingredients together.

Dice your seitan and put the seitan in the marinade for at least an hour, preferably overnight.

Then, put your dices on skewers. Cook them at medium heat on a grill pan (or regular pan) for about 10 minutes. It would be even better on a bbq.

Serve the seitan kebab with the remaining marinade and some extra steak spice

**If you’d like, do some other skewers with fresh vegetables to go with your kebab. I had red and green peppers, onions and mushrooms. My favourite way to do them is to toss all of the veggies in a bowl with 1 tbsp of olive oil, salt and pepper, before I put them on the skewers. I do not add any oil later on the pan, and cook them directly with the kebab.

**I also had edamame beans with my skewers. I simply steamed them for 3 minutes and add some sea salt afterward.

If your not familiar with edamame, here are some infos : edamames are the fresh beans of soy. They have a very interesting amount of protein and a lot of other healthy characteristics, but you cannot eat their shells. The traditional japanese way to eat them is simply the way I did, with some salt. You just put them on your lips and push the beans in your mouth (the shell is really soft and opens easily). In Japan, they are mostly uses as appetizers (kind of like our salted peanuts). You can also found them shelled, which is perfect for salads, sautés, pastas, hummus, etc. Edamame beans can be found in the freezer section of a lot of grocery stores (mostly healthy specialized ones). I know… japanese appetizers with kebabs!? May sound weird… but we just eat edamame with everything!

So here are the pictures of this delicious meal

chopped seitanChopped seitan

marinade seitanSeitan in marinade

brochettes pas cuitesUncooked skewers

edamame for seitan kebabSteamed edamame

brochette seitan kebab 2Final result!

Hope you’ll give this seitan a try! It truly was delicious!

 

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Seitan Kebab

  1. […] Seitan Kebab (veggiepawa.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

