Lunch Series : Honey and Seeds Healthy Squares

cover honey and seeds healthy squares

I’ve worked in a gym long enough to know that the end of August — just as much as the beginning of January — is a time for resolutions. And among the resolutions, there is one that is particularly enduring, which is : “this year, I’m going to bring lunches to work/school”… I know, this isn’t easy! This is why I’ve planned three posts to help you out with your lunches. My guidelines for this lunch series is that the recipe must be simple and lead to a great big batch of whatever it is.

I’ve chose to start by the end : dessert. The recipe I’ll share with you today is adapted from Nutiva Raw Hemp Chia Granola Bars. I have reduced the amount of honey by half and added tahini and soaked flax seed because the original recipe was good but really really really sweet — I mean, too sweet. It was impossible for me to eat a lot of them cause I’d simply feel sick. But with my new recipe, I can eat as much of those yummy squares as I want! But, hey, I won’t be kidding you. I wrote that those are healthy but they are quite rich and filling with the amount of nuts and seeds you’ll find in there, so (try to) eat them in moderation… and you’ll have plenty for the whole week (and even more)… Yeah!

Now, let’s forget the cafeteria buttery processed muffins! With all their fast carbs, slow carbs, protein, omega-3 and healthy fats, those squares should definitely help you feeling energized and concentrate throughout the whole day!

Ingredients :

  • 3 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup hempseed
  • 1/2 cup chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup flax seeds
  • one more tbsp of flaxseed, mixed with 2 tbsp of hot water
  • 1 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 3/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 3/4 cup almond butter
  • 1/4 cup tahini (or more almond butter)
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • a hint of vanilla (or 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract)

Directions :

Before you put all the ingredients in a bowl, mix the 1 tbsp of flaxseed and the 2 tbsp of hot water in a cup. Let them sit for at least five minutes while it thickens.

Mix all the other ingredients in a bowl. Finish by adding the thickened flax seed.

Put the mixture into a large baking pan. Cover it with parchment paper and press with your hands to make the mix perfectly flat. It should be 1/2 to 1 inch thick.

Those squares doesn’t require any baking. Put the baking pan in the fridge for a few hours (at least… preferably overnight) and then cut the mixture into squares of bars (I personally don’t cut them in advance; I only do it when i need them).  Tadam! You have snacks and desserts for the week!

*** Note : it’s really important to wait a few hours for the squares to really hold together before you cut them. I tried to bring some to my friends  in a small container not long after I made them and it was a disaster… they were all falling apart! I thought I just did something wrong with my recipe but the morning after, they turned out to be perfect!***

Hope you enjoy this sweet healthy treat!

papier parcheminI really love the idea of the parchment paper to get the mix to flatten.yummy texture squareflat squareAs you can see, this makes a whole lot of mixture! You can do half the recipe if you think it’s going to be too much.petit carré santéI even had enough to make this other little container.new carrés vue en plongée

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Lunch Series : Honey and Seeds Healthy Squares

  1. […] cover it with a parchment paper and press it with the palm of your hands like I demonstrated in my Honey and Seeds Healthy Squares […]

Leave a Reply

