Eco Friendly Tip : How To Make Broth From Your Kitchen Scraps

scraps for broth

A few weeks ago, I said that september feels like a huge turning point for a lot of us. Getting back to the routine, trying to be a better self, having some resolutions… I feel like this year is no exception! I’ve been cooking quite a lot, studying, looking for a job, beginning the organization of our second CRAS Comic Forum… and I even managed to get some of my friends in shape! As the Ultimate Frisbee season is over, some of them asked me to be their ” personal trainer “. I’ve no certification whatsoever but I’ve a lot of experience and a good drive (well, I think). We meet once a week in a beautiful park nearby so I can kick their asses! I even leave them homework (I’m such a schoolgirl!)

I feel like there’s a real empowerment for a little woman like me (I’m 5’3”) to kick some tall men butts! 🙂 Hehe! I love them guys, and I really hope I can convince them to keep up with the healthy lifestyle trough the winter… Does anybody knows a website or app. that would look like a calendar where each of us can write the exercises he’s been doing on each workout day? Does dropbox or google doc would do the trick?

Well, well, well, where were we? Oh, yeah : september. Good vibes, good resolutions. Making your own kitchen broth should definitely be one of them! Why? Because it is healthy (I mean, really healthy), eco friendly, easy, delicious and (almost) free! I took the idea from Feed Me Phoebe on last Earth day and never stopped doing it since! I think this idea is simply genius! Since I moved in my new apartment in june, I simply never used store bought broth again (oh my… “store bought broth”, try to repeat that 10 times fast).

Yeah, making your own veggie broth requires more motivation than simply buy broth in stores… But most of these commercial broths are so salty and unhealthy! I wouldn’t want to go back to this! Besides, making your own broth just become an habit after a few times… I don’t even think about it anymore.

But hey, if you think you won’t have enough motivation to do this on a regular basis, please, at least, invest in a good quality broth. I personally recommend “Better than bouillon” vegetable base. It’s saltier that what I do at home, for sure, but at least it is mostly made from real vegetables and ingredients you can actually pronounce.

Now, let’s talk about the real thing, our homemade veggie broth. Here’s what you’ll need :

Ingredients :

  • Veggie scraps (this means : parts of the vegetables you don’t use : the top and bottom of them, the skins… even the onion and garlic skins)
  • 1 or 2 bay leaves
  • About 10 peppercorns
  • Water
  • Salt (optional)

How To :

I feel like the most efficient way to collect kitchen scraps is, like Phoebe suggests, to collect them from time to time by adding them in a freezer bag each time you cook. When your freezer bag is full, it’s time to make some broth! Put the content of the bag in a big cauldron and put the empty bag back in the freezer.

scraps in a bag for broth

Fill the cauldron with some water until it reaches the top of the vegetables. Add the pepper and the bay leaves. Bring to a bowl, then lower the heath and let the broth simmer for at least 1 hour and a half (you can let it there a lot longer if you want to). Take a look at your broth once in a while and add some water if necessary, cause some of it will evaporate.

You can add salt to your taste if you want to, but I personally don’t. I feel like it is healthier this way. I adjust my recipes when necessary and add a little salt then, but I prefer to have a clean, neutral base to work with.

When you feel like the broth has been there long enough, stop the heat. Most of the time I let it stand on the oven for an hour so it can cool a little. Drain the broth with a sieve or a mesh over a bowl to recuperate all the liquid. Then, put the broth in some small containers you’ll put in the freezer, so you can just take the amount of broth you need when you need it (heating it in a cauldron or in the microwave).

broth in cauldron

If you have some extra motivation, or if you simply want to have an idea of the quantity you can put in each of your container, measure the quantity of broth you put in every one of them and note it on a post-it. If you feel lazier, freeze it directly. You’ll measure it when you’ll need it. Don’t fill your containers to much of it’s going to overflow when it freeze!

I measured my last batch of this recipe it gave me seventeen cups and a half  of broth.

I usually do some broth every 10 to 15 days.

broth with measures

broth ready to freeze

So, I hoope I gave you the desire to try to do your own broth! You don’t have to do it on a regular basis like I do… Just once in a while will be better than noting at all!

Enjoy autumn, everybody! The breeze is amazing and I’ll bring you my favourite soup recipe really soon! 🙂

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on “Eco Friendly Tip : How To Make Broth From Your Kitchen Scraps

  1. phoebelapine says:

    you go gurl!!! so proud. xo

  2. Perch says:

    Je me suis acheté des freezer bags aujourd’hui alors je t’en donnerai des nouvelles bientôt !

  3. […] 4 cups vegetable broth, divided (preferably home made) […]

  4. creativespin says:

    When I first went vegan, I was a little distressed about how many scraps (rinds, skins, tough bits) I was throwing away. I do this all the time now; it makes so much sense!

Leave a Reply

