Red Velvet Veggie Smoothie

red velvet veggie smoothie

Beets taste good, beets are healthy, but most of all, beets looks f*cking fabulous. Doesn’t this smoothie looks absolutely amazing?!

Beets are so inexpensive at this time of the year it would be a shame not to use them in every possible way. Tonight, I’ll be trying to cook vegetarian borsch for the first time ever. Wish me luck! I hope it turns out great, but I don’t have a lot of experience in western european cooking (nor eating, as a matter of fact… so I guess I just won’t know at all if my borsch is okay or if it’s not…).

Anyway, for the past two weeks I’ve been (successfully) making this delicious smoothie, that was inspired to me by a juice I saw on Vegan Sparkles. I thought the juice looked so good and the ingredients were so promising that I gave it a try in a smoothie form, adding ginger and flax for extra flavour and health benefice.

I really am more a smoothie person than a juice person (hum, “juice person”, that sounds kinda wrong). I feel that both methods have their pros and cons. Juicing allows you to benefits from the nutrients of more fruits and vegetables, as you discards the fibre (and most filling) part of it by the process of juicing. But unless you systematically use all the pulp left in your cooking, I feel that it is an outrageous waste to throw away all the fibres of the fruits and vegetables! I’m more in “the most fibre, the better” way of thinking, which is the reason why I don’t have a juicer and systematically prefer making smoothies to homemade or store bought juice drinking.

Your body needs fibres, a lot of them. Fibres aren’t assimilated by your body but they help everything (including toxins) circulating through (and out of) your body. This is, to me, the main reason why it is so important to eat whole grains and whole fruits and vegetables. Having a fibre dense diet provides you intestinal health ; in fact, it is known to prevent colon cancer and other diseases.

With that being said, let’s get to what made you click on this page, the magnificent Red Velvet Veggie Smoothie! Here are the ingredients you’ll need :

Ingredients :

  • 1 beet (small to medium)
  • 1 apple (small to medium)
  • 1 carrot (small)
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger
  • 1tsp flax seeds
  • ice cubes

How to :

Cut the beet and apple in quarters and the carrot in large trunk. Put all the ingredients in a high-powered blender like Vitamix. Add water until it covers all the ingredients. Also add some ice cubes (I’d say 2 or 3). Blend everything until smooth. You can add some extra ice for serving (or to keep it cold while travelling).

This is going to make around 750ml of smoothie. You can decide to share it or drink it all of your own just like I do! You can also save some for later or for the next day. You’ll just have to shake it well before you drink it.

photo-25

Have you noticed my cup lid? I love it so much ; it’s perfect to bring smoothies to school! It is a plastic lid to put on regular storing jars. I bought it on Cuppow recently and I’m in love with it! I took the bigger size cause I love to bring big smoothies with be, but it also comes in smaller sizes.

**Note that, if you are from Canada just like me, the shipping fees are quite hight… but well, I was so excited about this lid that I bought it anyway. And I don’t regret it!

**Did you know that Marilyn Monroe used to drink champaign in mason jars?!

photo-19Now this is a big smoothie! 😀 I almost have to hold it with two hands! Love it!

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Red Velvet Veggie Smoothie

  1. OH now smoothies that require two hands – especially those with portable lids – are the BEST! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

