Eat your Greens! Healthy Vegan Fettucine Alfredo with Rapini

vegan fettucine 2

I simply love “creamy” pasta dishes! In fact, I’ve been quite surprised, during the last few years, to realize that a lot of persons actually don’t like them(!) At the beginning, it just felt surreal to me… I mean, isn’t it a perfect comfort food!?

Well, this Fettucine Alfredo in particular is delicious, yet guilt free! I’ve been looking forward to eat healthy and really heavy dishes just lost some of their appeal to me. So, this lighter version of a comfort food classics is just like the best of the best! Yay!

I found this recipe on Vanilla & Spice, but I replaced the asparagus by rapini, cause I feel like this vegetable is simply underrepresented in the Blogosphere! I love rapini. I think that it’s taste is just so distinctive and interesting. I really feel that it is the perfect match for this Alfredo recipe!

As you may have noticed, I’ve decided to make a “Eat your Greens!” section on my website. Thanks to the rapini, this recipe qualifies for the “Eat your greens!” category. I felt that this addition would be useful to navigate through the archives when you’re looking for healthy recipes. I’ve been trying myself to add a lot more greens to my diet in the last few months, as those veggies are well known to be nutritionally dense. Leafy greens, especially, are packed with vitamins, minerals, antioxydants and fibers. There is no reason not to eat your greens everyday, and Veggie Pawa wanna help you not to forget that! 😉

So, here is for today’s recipe :

Ingredients :

  • 8 to 9oz dry whole wheat fettucine
  • 1 tbsp olive oil (+ more for cooking)
  • 2 small yellow onions, peeled and pureed in a food processor
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 1,5 cups almond milk
  • 1/2 cup tahini
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley, plus more for garnish
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 bunch of rapini, cut in florets
  • 1/2 tsp lemon zest

Instructions :

Cook fettucine in salted water until al dente. Drain and set aside.

In the meanwhile, heat some oil in a skillet to medium-high. Cook onion and garlic until brown (but not burn), between 5 to 8 minutes.

Cook your rapini in a steamer basket for 3 to 5 minutes. Set them aside and toss them one tablespoon of olive oil, lemon zest, salt and pepper.

In a bowl, stir together almond milk, tahini, salt, nutmeg and pepper until they are well mixed. Pour this “milky mix” in the skillet with the onion mixture and reduce heat to medium. Cook it for five minutes, stirring often. Add the lemon juice and parsley let it sit for another minute. Close the heat.

Mix the sauce together with the fettucine. Put the pastas in some plates and top them with rapini.

You can add additional lemon zest and/or parsley and/or pepper to serve.

rapinis pour fettucinivegan fettucine alfredo

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Eat your Greens! Healthy Vegan Fettucine Alfredo with Rapini

  1. Rapini is great. I love it (and more so than asparagus). Good substitution!

  2. […] to pumpkins! For this recipe, I reused the sauce from Vanilla&Spice I used in a previous post (Healthy Vegan Fettucine Alfredo with Rapini), except I omit the parsley. This really is one of the best sauce EVER, and it fits perfectly with […]

  3. fresh vegan food says:

    LOVE this recipe – great with other greens too. Sauce is perfect!

Leave a Reply

