Asian Inspired Peanut Butter Tofu Sandwiches

asian inspired peanut butter tofu sandwichesAs you may remember, I’m a real peanut butter lover! So, I was quite please when my friend Vanessa chose, among some other choices, that I would make some Peanut Butter Tofu Sandwiches for our little get together. Miam! Those are so simple yet so good!

We had the perfect day, my friend Vanessa and I. We went apple picking at Hemmingford in the lovely Philion Ecological Orchards. The apples were delicious, the weather was perfect and the orchard’s employee were so sweet and helpful. They even thought us how to pick apples “the right way” and how to keep them longer by putting them in a plastic bag in the fridge. Cool!

Philion orchardsPhilion Orchards. Isn’t it beautiful!?

So, now that I have a ton of apples and pears, I hope I’m gonna be able to come up with some interesting recipes… I always do apple sauce, but I don’t have a lot of imagination to do other things and I’m not quite fond of regular apple pies. Of course, I’m also making some apple arrows, as I’ve show in a previous post, but I’d really like to come up with a vegetarian main course including apples. I hope I’ll be able to, cause I’m not a real prolific recipe developer…

So, lets get back to this meal I had with Vanessa and our boyfriends. I started it with a Beet Carpacio that was way beyond my expectations! It was so full of flavours!

I’ll post the recipe later this week, but just take a look at how beautiful it is.

beet carpacio

We continued the meal with an unpretentious asian inspired sandwich. I took the recipe on Oh my veggies and really didn’t change it at lot.

Vanessa brought some wonderful pastries for dessert! Miam! It’s so rare that I eat such rich dessert, it was just the perfect treat! My boyfriend, who is really picky when it comes to dessert (he doesn’t have such a sweet tooth) exclaimed himself with so much emotion when he tasted the praline rectangle : “oh my god! this is it! this is what I’ve been trying to explain! The perfect texture!”. Hihi, this was quite nice to hear!

desserts avec nessa

Well, let’s get back to the main course! Here is what you need to make 3 to 4 of those yummy sandwiches :

Ingredients :

For the tofu :

  • 1-14 oz. package extra-firm tofu, pressed for 30 minutes
  • 1 tbsp olive or coconut or peanut oil

For the peanut sauce :

  • 6 tbsp natural peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1 tbsp tamari sauce
  • 2-3 tsp brown sugar (to taste)
  • 1 tbsp minced ginger
  • cayenne to taste (optional)
  • 1 to 4 tbsp coconut milk or water

For the sandwiches :

  • 1 small carrot, shredded
  • 1 red bell pepper, sliced
  • 1/4 cup sliced green onion
  • 1/3 cup chopped cilantro
  • 4 sandwich wraps, pitas, tortillas, or vegan naan

Directions :

Cut the tofu block in 8 equal “steaks”. If you want to, you can cut them again on diagonal to have triangles instead of rectangles (I didn’t do it this time, cause my tofu block had an unusual shape).

Heat some oil to medium in a pan and put tofu there for about 5 minutes on each side or until crunchy. Put the tofu steaks on a plate and remove oil excess with some paper towels.

While the tofu is cooking, mix together all the dressing ingredients except the water (or coconut milk). When everything is mixed together, add the water (or coconut milk) one tablespoon at the time until you reached the desired consistency. You can do it with a whisk or a fork but I use my Vitamix to mix the dressing so I don’t even have to mince the ginger before I put it there…

Heat the bread your using (I had thick pita bread and heat it directly in a pan) and then put the tofu, the vegetables the dressing and the cilantro on one half of it, so you can flip the other one over and have a nice sandwich.

horace à notre souper d'amisHere is a curious cat who wanted to have a closer look at our sandwiches.

sandwich asiatique 1Marc et VanessaHere are my friends Marc and Vanessa! I’ve known Vanessa like… forever! She’s such a joyful girl! It’s quite funny how those two are our “Medical field friends” while we — Mathieu and I — really are the Literature couple. We are passionate about different things but we get along so well ❤

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Asian Inspired Peanut Butter Tofu Sandwiches

  1. Vanessa says:

    Thank you so much for this gorgeous and so loveful dinner! It was a pleasure for us to share this so precious moment: it is so easy with you and Mathieu beaucause you are such perfect each other. This evening was memorable. Thank you again xox, Viva Forever 😉

Leave a Reply

