Vegan Beet Carpacio

beet carpacio with almonds 1I first tried this “salad” on last saturday, when I had some friends for dinner. While I was slicing beets, I had some kind of doubts, and was like “Oh my god, this recipe certainly LOOKS awesome, but is it going to taste good!? Why didn’t I wonder before? Why didn’t I try it before I had some friends over?”

I worried a lot, yeah, but the second I had the first bite of this beet carpacio, I knew it was going to be a hit! This meal is so simple yet so good! The mix between the beet, avocado and mustard vinaigrette is simply amazing! Totally made me feel like THIS.

I took this recipe on May I have that recipe website. I don’t know how I managed to do this, but on saturday, I simply didn’t see the part where it’s written to cook the beets! Maybe my subconscious played some kind of trick on me and I just didn’t want to see it, as I was going for a quick, fresh recipe. The fact is that this recipe was amazing in it’s raw form! So when I did the recipe again two days later — for the sake of the blog and the joy of our tastebuds — I decided to keep it raw. It’s so much simple!

So, here is my version on the recipe :

Ingredients (for two plates) :

  • 1 large beet (or two small ones)
  • 1 green onion
  • 3 tbsp chopped almonds, pecans or walnuts (optional)
  • 1 avocado

For the dressing :

  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp grain mustard
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp agave nectar
  • a pinch of salt
  • 2 tsp chia seeds

Directions :

Mix all the dressing ingredients and let it sit, so the chia seeds will get it thicker.

Slice the beet really thin with a mandoline slicer (you can go even thinner than what you see on the pictures).

Place the sliced beets on two serving plates. Dice the avocado and add it in the center of the plates. Drizzle some dressing on the beets, add green onions and nuts. Serve immediately so the avocado won’t turn brown.

ingredients for beet carpaciobeet carpacio 2You can also do the recipe nut free and it is still going to be really good! I know it for sure, cause I forgot them on saturday! (Where my head was at, I wonder for sure…) Here the beets are cut thinner and the dressing sat longer, so I had a better result :

beet carpacio

 

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

