Vegan Broccoli “Cheesy” Soup

cheesy broccoli soup1Some weeks ago, I said I was going to put my favourite soup recipe on the blog. This was before I tried this vegan “cheesy” broccoli soup. I got so enthusiast by this one I didn’t want to wait till I share it with you!

I took the recipe on Oh she glows and slightly adapted it. I cannot stress enough how much I like Oh she glows website! Angela posts the most amazing recipes! Just like she said on her post, I’ve always felt that “cheesy broccoli soup” was something strange that came up directly from a can. So I was never really interested by it. In fact, I think I may never have eaten it before I tried Angela’s version! And this was definitely a wow! I fell in love the second I had the first sip of this soup, directly from the cauldron! This explains why I don’t have any “preparation” pictures today. I didn’t plan on putting this recipe on the blog, but after I finished cooking, the soup tasted so good, and the light was so beautiful that I thought I had to put the recipe on Veggie Pawa!

Strange thing is I tried this soup cause I only had a broccoli left in the fridge and really needed to go to the grocery store. I certainly didn’t expect it to turn that well! Ah, sometimes, kitchen success is not where we expect it!

cheesy broccoli soup2

I also feel like I have to say a word about my last weekend. I was really stressed out because I had to prepare my first job interview to become a French Literature College Teacher. I can tell you now that I didn’t book the job (and really, it’s ok, I got really good feedback and I’ll get better for next time; but I must admit my pride currently feels like THOSE POOR THINGS ). So, during this really stressful weekend, I had the opportunity to have some quality time at my aunt’s place. I harvested grapes in her vine yard for the first time of my life! It was really relaxing — ok, relaxing wouldn’t be the word I’d use if I had to do this many days in a row, but for one day, it was quite relaxing. Plus, my aunt gave me a huge quantity of frozen organic blueberries coming from her garden… they are the best I ever had! I just can’t stop eating them (seriously!) I’m so happy now that I have plenty!

going to hemmingford

But now, let’s get back to this soup that made me so enthusiast. Here is what you’ll need to do it :

Ingredients for the soup :

Recipe adapted from Oh she glows.

  • 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium sweet onion, chopped
  • 2-3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 cup chopped greens (I used swiss chard)
  • 4-4.5 cups chopped broccoli florets (about 2 heads)
  • 1.5 cups peeled & chopped potatoes (about 3)
  • 3 cups vegetable broth (preferably home made)
  • 2 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (or crushed red pepper flakes)
  • Low-fat vegan cheesy sauce, divided (**see below for recipe)
  • 1/2 tbsp lemon juice
  • Onion powder, to taste
  • Salt & black pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 cup fresh minced parsley
  • Shredded vegan cheese, to garnish (optional)
  • Smoked Paprika, to garnish
  • Croutons, to garnish (preferably home made)

Ingredients for the vegan cheesy sauce :

  • 1.5 cup almond milk
  • 3/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 tbsp Earth Balance or other non-dairy buttery spread
  • 2 tbsp all purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp + 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt & freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

Directions for the soup:

Heat oil in a large skillet to low-medium heat. Add garlic and onions. Stir frequently until onions get translucent (about 5 minutes).

Add the broccoli and potatoes and cook for another 5 minutes. Then, add the broth, nutritional yeast and cayenne pepper. Let’s simmer for 15 minutes (or until the potatoes are tender). Add your greens for the few last minutes, just so they’ll get a little tender.

While the veggies are cooking, prepare your cheesy sauce in a small cauldron (**see the directions below).

Put your broccoli soup in a blender or use a submersion blender to mix it. You can leave a bit of chunk (“mottons”, as we would say in Quebec French).

Mix the cheesy sauce into the soup but hold 1/3 cup for later (we will use it as a topping).

Add the onion powder, lemon juice and parsley to your soup and stir them together.

Put the soup into bowls and add the extra cheesy sauce. Garnish with smoked paprika, optional shredded vegan cheese, and croutons.

Directions for the cheesy sauce :

In a bowl, whisk together the flour and 1/4 cup of the almond milk until smooth.

In a small pot, melt Hearth balance (or whatever substitute you’re using).

Add the remaining milk, as well as the milk and flour mix, to the pot.  Add the nutritional yeast. Put the temperature to low-medium.

Add Dijon, garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper, and whisk consistently for 3 to 5 minutes, until the mixture has thicken. Remove from the heat once its ready so it won’t burn.

vegan broccoli cheesy soup with writing

Leave a Reply

