Pumpkin and Sweet Potato “Creamy” Cannelloni

cannelloni with titleHalloween already! Am I too late to post a pumpkin recipe? In fact, I think it may be the perfect day to post that Pumpkin and Sweet Potato “Creamy” Vegan Cannelloni recipe cause the appearance of it must be the ugliest one of all the recipes I’ve done so far(!) Trust me, I did my best to make it look good on the picture and it wasn’t easy… But then, you must be like “why is she posting it if it’s so damn ugly?!” I have one thing to answer to you : “don’t judge by the appearance, this recipe is f*cking tasty awesome deliciously amazing” (yeah, this is what I sound like when I try to put together some english adjectives). Anyway, I think I have some tips that may help you get a more beautiful result that I did while keeping all the tasty yumminess!

Ah, speaking of my weak english, I’ve been to Boston with some of my friends… (like almost two weeks ago, already!) It was so much fun! We went there to assist the Blogilates Boston Meet Up and I got to meet Cassey Ho, my social media fitness idol! It was really exciting. If you click on that link I just put, you can even hear me, the poor French Canadian, trying to talk in english while petrified by the glance of the camera over my face! Omg, I literally freeze when I’m in front of a camera! I’m usually so energetic, but as you may have seen in my one and only Veggie Pawa video, I look like I’m on valium every time I talk in front of an electronic device…

Let’s get back to pumpkins! For this recipe, I reused the sauce from Vanilla&Spice I used in a previous post (Healthy Vegan Fettucine Alfredo with Rapini), except I omit the parsley. This really is one of the best sauce EVER, and it fits perfectly with all the pumpkin and sweet potato creaminess.

Ingedients for the sauce :

  • 2 small yellow onions, peeled and pureed in a food processor
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 1,5 cups almond milk
  • 1/2 cup tahini
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice

Ingredients for the cannelloni :

  • Ready to put in the oven express cannelloni (or regular ones)
  • 1 cup crumbled firm tofu (about half a package)
  • 1 tbsp chia or hemp seeds
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp cardamome
  • 1/4 tsp ginger powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • a hint of clove
  • 1 cup pureed pumpkin (fresh or store bought)
  • 1 small-medium sweet potato, cooked and cube  (about 1 cup)

Directions :

Heat your oven to 350 degrees.

When you have all the ingredients nearby, chopped and ready to use, make the sauce. Heat some oil in a skillet to medium-high. Cook pureed onions and garlic until brown (but not burn), between 5 to 8 minutes.

In another bowl, stir together almond milk, tahini, salt, nutmeg and pepper until they are well mixed. Once the onions are ready, pour this “milky mix” in the skillet with the onion mixture and reduce heat to medium. Cook it for five minutes, stirring often. Add the lemon juice and let it sit for another minute. Close the heat.

 

While this is cooking, mix all the cannelloni spices and the seeds with the crumbled tofu in a bowl.

Use another pan to cook tofu in a little drizzle of oil. Once some of the tofu gets coloured, add the pumpkin puree and sweet potato to heat them all together. The sweet potato cubes should get crushed a little with everything else. This is your filling. Taste it to make sure the seasoning looks fine to you. You can adjust.

Pour some of the sauce in the bottom of a pyrex. Fill the cannelloni one by one with the pumpkin filling, using a spoon (and ultimately, your fingers).  Place them all in the pyrex (I had some filling left with the quantity of cannelloni you can see on the picture, but I didn’t have any cannelloni left!) Add some sauce on top of the cannelloni so they cook well (but keep some sauce for garnishing after the cooking) and put them in the oven, cooking them according to the cannelloni package instructions (mine were there for about 45 minutes).

Once the cannelloni are served in plates, add the remaining white sauce (that you kept hot, or reheated a bit), to make it look and taste better. This is the step I didn’t figure out at first!

Of course, you can use regular cannelloni that you would boil in water before you fill them. I’ve always been scared of those. I feel like I would break them all! But next time, this is what I’ll try. With the pastas and filling already cooked, I would just have to put them for a little bit in the oven and it would certainly look better! The awkward-looking factor in my actual recipe is definitely due to the sauce adhering to much and getting drier while those “express pastas” are cooking.

If you experiment with this recipe as well, let me know how it turned out! This was such one of the yummiest thing ever, but the look wasn’t there at all… maybe you have a tip for me!

Hope you enjoy this Halloween dish! See more (or less appetizing) pictures below!

filling for cannellonisCannelloni fillinguncooked cannelloniCannelloni before I add some more sauce and put them in the ovencannellonis 1The final, weird looking result (remind me a bit of imperial rolls or egg rolls…)

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

