Vegan Malai Kofta made from squash

malai kofta with textDid you enjoy my pun : “Made from squash/made from scratch”? Hihi, I hope I’m not the only one to think it’s kinda funny!

This is a Squash and Squash post cause I wanted to talk about the new sport I’ve been practicing for the autumn : Squash! I’m not good at all for the moment but I’m really enjoying it a lot. It’s the first time since High School that I practice a racket sport. I really feel like a cool kid when I’m in the subway with my racket case… Hihi! And even though I’m new to squash as a sport, it’s not the first time that squash has helped me in a fitness matter… Guess how! As a medicine ball! Yep, I workout at home kinda often, and I don’t have a medicine ball so I’ve already use whole squashes to do some of my moves (like the russian twist). Beware, if you do the same, you don’t want the squash to fall over you! This could hurt!

squash gear

Now, let’s get back to the Squash Malai Kofta Recipe. Do you remember that I was going to my first cooking class last wednesday? Well, I totally loved it! I learned so many things and the atmosphere was just great! For all of you Montrealers, I strongly recommend you to try a class at L’Armoire du haut! I’ll be attending many more. Dominique Dupuis, the instructor, is really friendly and makes you feel like home. Plus, everything that we cooked turned out to be amazing. Wednesday’s class was about Indian Food, and Dominique knew a whole lot about it because of the trip she made to India and the cooking classes she took there ; it was so interesting to hear all of her stories about India! Plus, by the end of the class, I realized something totally weird : this recipe of Malaï Kofta I have planned to put on Veggie Pawa for a few weeks (I even had the pictures and everything), was in fact created by Dominique Dupuis! What a strange coincidence! I took the French Version of this recipe on the Association manger santé bio website, and didn’t change a think, as it already sounded good and healthy!

I warn you : if you are looking for a meatball replacement that tastes like meat, I can tell you right off the hook this isn’t your recipe. Those squash balls taste like squash balls, and I personally think they’re perfect that way! So if you feel like eating a lot of veggies in a really original and flavourful way, this is for you!

Ingredients :

For the Balls (Koftas) :

  • 3 cups Butternt Squash, shredded
  • 2 tsp Fennel Seeds
  • 2 tsp Cilantro Seeds
  • 1 tsp Chili Flakes
  • 1/4 cup Ground Flax Seeds
  • ¼ cup Chopped Nuts
  • 2 tbsp Chopped Raisins
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste
  • Coconut Oil, for cooking

For the Sauce (Malai) :

  • 1/4 cup Cashew Nuts soaked in 3/4 cup non-dairy Milk for an hour
  • 1 tbsp Maple Syrup
  • 2 small Onions
  • 3 Garlic Gloves
  • 1 inch fresh Ginger
  • 2 tsp Olive Oil
  • 1 tsp Turmeric
  • 1½ tsp powdered Cilantro
  • 1 cup pureed Tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp Garam Masala
  • Salt and Pepper

Directions :

For the Balls (Koftas) :

Put the squash in a bowl. Grind together the fennel seeds, and the cilantro seeds, then add them to the squash. Also add the chill flakes and the ground flax seed. Let this mixture sit for a couple of minutes so it really holds together. Add the nuts and raisins to the mix.

Form the balls in your hands (the size of a squash ball or a golf ball, or any size you like, really). Press the mixture together to form the balls and do not try to roll it between your hands; it would fall apart.

Heat some oil in a pan and heat the balls until they are golden on every side. Once they are cooked, put them aside on a paper towel to absorb the excess of oil.

uncooked kofta

For the Sauce (Malai) :

In your food processor, mix the onion, garlic in ginger so they turn into a puree.

Heat a pan to low/medium temperature (it could be the same you used for the koftas, or you can do both recipe at the same time in different pans). Heat the oil and put the onion/garlic/ginger mixture into it. Let it there — stirring once in a while — for about 10 minutes or until the puree starts changing color.

Add salt, turmeric, powdered cilantro and pureed tomatoes. Cook for 10 minutes of until most of the tomatoes water is evaporated.

Reduce the cashews and milk into a puree in a food processor with the maple syrup. Once the tomato mix is ready, put this cashew mixture in the pan with the other ingredients. Stir well and add the Garam Masala.

Add about 1 cup of water and let the mixture simmer for a few minutes. Then, add the balls (koftas) and wait until they are heated through.

It’s ready! No you can eat this with brown rice and/or chapati bread!

squash for kofta in vitamixI shredded my squash directly in my food processor (Vitamix). Made the process a lot quicker!pumpkin smoothie while cooking koftaI had to much Squash shredded, so I used my food processor to mix a squash smoothie I would sip while I was preparing the food!kofta while cookingvegan malai kofta 2

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Vegan Malai Kofta made from squash

  1. Julie says:

    Allô Marilyn!
    Nous nous sommes rencontrées la semaine dernière au cours de cuisine indienne, et je t’avais dit que je viendrais visiter ton blogue. Je suis bien contente de le découvrir (je le trouve super en passant), et je dois dire que je suis maintenant tentée d’essayer le Malai Kofta! N’hésite pas à me contacter par courriel si tu veux échanger au sujet de l’alimentation ou de la littérature.
    Au plaisir et joyeuses fêtes!

    • Allô Julie!
      Je suis contente que tu aies trouvé mon blogue!
      Ma demande CRÉPUQ a visiblement été acceptée ; nous devrions donc nous revoir à la session d’hiver dans le cours à l’UQÀM. Yé! J’aime tellement rencontrer des gens qui aiment la bouffe autant que moi! 😀
      À bientôt, donc!
      Et joyeuses fêtes à toi aussi!

  2. […] Now, I promised you a simple Buckwheat pancake recipe to go with the Sugar Shack theme of the day. I don’t have any picture right now but I promise it will come soon. This is my go to recipe when I want to make Buckwheat Pancakes. It so easy it’s almost unbelievable. When we have almost no food left at home, we make some Buckwheat Pancakes and fill them with anything we can find! I took the original recipe on Association Manger Santé Website and realized right now (like, literally right now) that it was written from Dominique Dupuis, from whom I’ve already talked in a previous post. […]

Leave a Reply

